Accessibility Settings

Select Language

Adjust Font Size

Daycare provider draws pictures with kids. Find out what the mandated reporter requirements are in CA.

What are the Mandated Reporter Training Requirements in CA?

Training
by Mandated Reporter Training | March 5, 2021

The Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (CANRA) is a California law requiring employers to identify mandated reporters, persons who are required by law to report suspected child abuse and neglect. In some instances, employers or departments are required to provide training to ensure employees are adequately prepared to take on this responsibility.

Here is an overview of the mandated reporter training requirements in California:

AB1963 Requires Training for Businesses that Hire Teens

In January 2021, CA Assembly Bill 1963 took effect making human resources employees and some supervisors mandated reporters of child abuse.

If one of your employees is a mandated reporter under this bill, your organization is required to provide them with training in their new duty.

Assembly Bill 1963 requires employers of the impacted human resources employees and supervisors to provide training on the identification and reporting of child abuse and neglect. AB 1963 applies to companies that have more than 5 employees who employ minors. Failing to report suspected child abuse can lead to penalties including fees and up to six months of jail time.

How to Meet the Requirements
Companies that employ minors and who have more than 5 employees can meet the requirements of AB1963 with specialty courses developed just for employers at mandatedreportertraining.com (approx. 45 min training time), or with the general training offered by the California Department of Social Services at mandatedreporterca.com (approx. 4 hour training time).

AB1432 Requires Training for Teachers and School Personnel

In 2015, CA Assembly Bill 1432 went into effect, requiring California school districts to annually train mandated reporters on their child abuse reporting obligations under the law.

AB 1432 imposed the mandated reporter training obligation on all school districts, county offices of education (COEs), state special schools and diagnostic centers operated by the California Department of Education (CDE), and charter schools and their school personnel in California.

Training requirements under AB1432 include:

  • Annually train employees and persons working on their behalf who are mandated reporters under the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (CANRA) on their abuse and neglect reporting requirements.
  • Train new employees and persons working on their behalf who are mandated reporters within six (6) weeks of each person's employment.
  • Develop a process for all persons required to receive training under the law to provide proof of completing this training within the first six (6) weeks of each school year or within six (6) weeks of that person's employment.

How to Meet the Requirements
School employees can meet the requirements of AB1432 by completing the general training course (approx 4 hours) followed by the school personnel training (approx. 3 hours) offered by the California Department of Social Services at mandatedreporterca.com.

AB1207 Requires Training for Day Care Providers and Employees

In January 2018, AB 1207 went into effect, requiring training and guidance on the responsibilities of mandated reporters who are licensed daycare providers, administrators and employees of licensed daycare facilities, and applicants for that license.

The licensee of a facility must obtain proof that administrators and employees satisfied these requirements. Proof of completion must then be submitted to the Department upon inspection of the child daycare facility or upon request.

A child daycare facility that fails to comply with these requirements may have its license revoked if the facility fails to correct a violation within 90 days of receipt of a notice of non-compliance.

How to Meet the Requirements
Daycare providers and employees can meet the requirements of AB1432 by completing the general training course (approx 4 hours) followed by the child care provider training (approx. 3 hours) offered by the California Department of Social Services at mandatedreporterca.com.

For more information about training for your organization and available training options, consult our team at mandatedreportertraining.com

Find the perfect product with the help of our team

Not sure what Mandated Reporter Training solution is right for you? Our team can help you identify the perfect solution, whether you’re an individual who needs profession-specific training or an organization that needs to ensure you’re compliant with state and federal mandated reporter training requirements.

Get a personalized recommendation on the right mandated reporter training solution for you.

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest online learning resources sent to you.