If you’re a nurse in California, taking Mandated Reporter Training can now count towards your Continuing Education (CE) requirement from the Board of Registered Nursing.
Nurses in the state of California have an essential duty to protect their patients as mandated reporters of abuse. Now, training to recognize abuse and neglect can help you fulfill your legal obligations to maintain your nursing license in the state.
How the Course Fills Your Continuing Education Requirements
Mandated Reporter Training’s course for medical professionals, created by Simple Learning in partnership with the California Department of Social Services, has been approved by the Board of Registered Nursing as a continuing education course.
Registered nurses in California are required to take 30 hours of continuing education every two years to maintain their nursing license. These courses must be taken in the previous renewal period, so it pays to be proactive about staying on top of your CE requirements with courses “relevant to the practice of nursing.”
Simple’s Mandated Reporter Training course is now approved by the Board of Registered Nursing, making it a trusted solution for nurses seeking to fulfill their continuing education hours with a simple online learning option.
This course provides crucial information about your duty as a mandated reporter, including how to recognize signs of potential abuse or neglect when performing your duties as a nurse. This allows you to learn more about the vital responsibility of a mandated reporter while satisfying your CE requirements. The MRT course will count for 4 hours of continuing education.
Mandated Reporting Requirements for Nurses in California
In California, licensed nurses are among the listed medical professionals required to report suspected instances of child abuse or neglect. As a nurse in California, your legal obligation as a mandated reporter is made easier when you understand:
- How to identify suspected instances of abuse
- When, where, and how to report
- What information must be included in a report
- What happens after a report is filed
Because abuse reporting is mandated under state law, failing to file a report is a criminal offense. If you fail to report abuse, you could face a misdemeanor that can lead to consequences such as a $1,000 fine, up to 6 months in a county jail, or both.
Because of the complexities that surround how to make a report and the grave consequences of failing to do so, it’s crucial for medical professionals to understand how to fulfill their duty as mandatory reporters.
Taking Simple’s approved mandated reporter training course can help you understand and navigate this critical duty while you earn your required CE credits needed to keep your nursing license in good standing. One efficient online training provides two incredible benefits for your nursing career.
How to Take CE Mandated Reporter Training As A Nurse
Sign up to begin your continuing education hours with Simple’s Mandated Reporter Training, created in partnership with the California Department of Social Services.
To get started, register online via MandatedReporterTraining.com. When you select your industry and the state of California at sign-up, the appropriate training for medical professionals will be added to your account so you can begin your course right away.