Skip to main content
July 5, 2022

How Long is Mandated Reporter Training Good For in CA?

MandatedReporterTraining logo

Mandated Reporter Training

A daycare provider smiles and gives one of her students a high five.

Do you need to renew your mandated reporter training?

In California, certain occupations are legally required to report suspected cases of child abuse and maltreatment. California legislation requires mandated reporter training for businesses that hire teens, teachers and school personnel, and daycare providers and workers.

If you are one of the people required to take this training, you may be wondering:

How Long is Mandated Reporter Training Good For in CA?

California state legislation defines when certain employees must take, or retake, mandated reporter training. The retraining requirements vary from profession to profession.

Child Daycare Facilities

AB 1207 took effect on January 1, 2018, and requires the California Department of Social Services to provide training to licensed daycare providers, administrators, and employees on the detection and reporting of child abuse.

  • All employees must take training within 90 days of employment
  • Training must be retaken every two years

School Districts

AB 1432 requires school districts, county offices of education, state special schools and diagnostic centers, and charter school teachers and employees to complete mandated reporter training.

  • All school personnel must complete training within 6 weeks of each school year or employment
  • School personnel must retrain annually

HR Departments & Supervisors

AB 1963 is the most recent update to California mandated reporter law. This legislation is designed to help protect teens in the workplace by making human resources employees and some front-line supervisors mandated reporters of child abuse and neglect.

AB 1963 requires employers of these HR employers and supervisors to provide training but does not define renewal terms.

How to Meet California Mandated Reporter Training Requirements

California mandated reporter training requirements may be met by completing the general online training for mandated reporters offered by the Office of Child Abuse Prevention in the State Department of Social Services.

Profession-specific training programs are also available for childcare providers, school personnel, and HR professionals and supervisors of teen workers at

Share this post

Mandated Reporter Training icon

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest online learning resources sent to you.


A daycare employee reading a book to a group of children.

February 22, 2022

7 Professions Required to Take CA Mandated Reporter Training

California state law outlines a list of professionals who are required to report suspected child abuse and neglect. For some of these individuals, the state requires these professionals to take Mandated Reporter training in order to fulfill their duty as reporters.
A woman raising her hand in a new hire training seminar.

October 21, 2021

Your Complete Guide to Easy New Hire Training

The Great Resignation means that workers are leaving their old positions in droves, leaving organizations across the U.S. with a desperate need to hire and fill empty seats. However, training a new employee can be costly in terms of both time and resources.
The side profile of a person with curly hair looking at a computer screen. Screen shows the Mandated Reporter Training course.

October 4, 2021

Are Employers Required to Provide Training for Mandated Reporters?

If you employ mandated reporters, your state may require you by law to train them for the responsibility of reporting suspected child abuse and neglect. Federal Law Requires Mandated Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect In 1974, Congress passed the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) to create a federal focus for preventing and responding to child abuse.